Real. Good. Fud.

and other joys in life

Spaghetti Squash Surprise

3 Comments

Fall brings along some of the very best foods, mostly members of the squash family.  Acorn, butternut, spaghetti, and my personal favorite, pumpkin! Yum.  I’ve heard of spaghetti squash, and also thought it sounded intriguing.   
So, tonight I decided to try out this odd winter squash.  Tyler was scared… and I may have been a little also.  But the results were pure deliciousness!
Here’s what I did:
Washed a spaghetti squash, and cut it in half and scooped out the seeds.  I then brushed some garlic herb olive oil and sprinkled some pepper on the flesh side, then put the halves flesh side down on a foil lined baking sheet.  They then roasted in the 450 degree oven for about 35 minutes. 
While the squash cooled, I heated up Bertolli vodka sauce on the stove (our go-to super delicious sauce, even though it comes in a jar J).  Then I scooped out the flesh, which really truly did come out looking just like spaghetti!  I stirred it into the sauce, and mixed together.  We ate some edamame and farmer’s wheat bread from our favorite baker, Breadsmith. 
Now, Tyler and I (especially Tyler) do not watch calories or carbs.  But, if you do try to limit these, spaghetti squash would be an awesome alternative to pasta! It was a little crunchier than well-cooked pasta, but really all you can taste is the sauce.  I imagine you can eat it with any sauce you would typically pair with pasta.  It might even be better than pasta, especially if you have a delicious sauce you aren’t wanting to compete with the taste of the noodles(especially if you use whole wheat noodles like I tend to).
Give it a try with your favorite pasta sauce, and you just might, like me, be pleasantly surprised! Have a happy and safe Halloween, and until next time…
Cheers!
Kaydee     
Author: realgoodfud

My name is Kaydee. I am happily married, and the proud mother of two beautiful miniature schnauzers. I am a grad student for speech-language pathology. And, I love food- as long as it is real, and tastes good.

3 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squash Surprise

  1. I am so excited about your new blog!! And, you have already inspired me. We have been doing at least one meatless night a week, but often that has turned into breakfast night. Cassie told me about spaghetti squash awhile back but I forgot about it!! It will be on the menu next week. Suggestion- you should add pics of the during and after! Love ya!

  2. Pingback: A Delicious Weekend | Real. Good. Fud.

What do you think?

