Real. Good. Fud.

and other joys in life

New Year Part 2

Leave a comment

      I previously established my belief that everyone should have a goal to try new foods this year!  But what other goals do you have for 2012?  Here are my food-related ambitions for the New Year.

      Try new foods.  My sister got me a cookbook for Christmas from Kansas City’s refugee outreach.  It contains recipes from all over the world.  Specifically, I’d like to try a new cuisine from a different country at least once a month.  I’m also going to venture into the world of super foods and herbs more.  I tried the burdock root.  Next is spirulina.  This actually comes in powder or capsule form, so it’s not exactly trying something new.  I plan to add it to my juices/smoothies.  Our local health-food store, Mama Jean’s, gets all kinds of ‘adventurous’ produce, such as burdock root!  Next time you’re at the grocery store, pick up something you’ve never tried before. When you get home, research the new food and how it can be eaten or cooked.  Look at it as an adventure!

      Something else I want to try is using more fresh herbs.  I’ve used some basics in the past; basil, thyme, dill.  But, I always find they go bad before used up.  I heard a tip to put chopped fresh herbs in ice cube trays and freeze.  Hopefully that will help.  I also want an herb garden at home.  This way, I won’t have to buy a whole bunch, but can just pick what I need for the day!

      Eat more raw food.  I am going to try to eat at least one raw dish each meal.  Often this will be fruit for breakfast, for lunch this will be a salad or at least raw peppers, carrots, etc.  I will then have a smoothie or juice with vegetables and fruits before, after or with dinner. 

      Make homemade pasta.

      How do you plan to better your health and eating habits this year?  If you need motivation, I encourage you to watch the documentaries I reviewed, or any similar.  Do you want to eat less meat, using beans and other protein sources more?  Maybe incorporate whole grains in your diet, replacing refined ‘grains’; white flour, pasta, depleted cereals.  Eat less sugar?  Think about all the foods that contain hidden sugar; salad dressing, pasta sauce, cereal, granola bars.  How about eating more fresh foods, especially fruits and vegetables; avoiding processed foods.  Perhaps you just want to be more conscious of what goes into your body.  This would include reading labels; not just the calories and fat, but especially looking at the ingredients.  I’d love to hear from you regarding your plans to make your body smile this year!  I can share some tips that may help you achieve these goals, and perhaps you could do the same for mine! 

Here’s to a happy New Year!!

Author: realgoodfud

My name is Kaydee. I am happily married, and the proud mother of two beautiful miniature schnauzers. I am a grad student for speech-language pathology. And, I love food- as long as it is real, and tastes good.

What do you think?

